Board of Trustees

Ernest H. Cockrell
Chairman of the Board; Chairman, Cockrell Interests LLC; Director and President, The Cockrell Foundation
Forrest E. Hoglund
Vice Chairman of the Board; Chairman and CEO, SeaOne Maritime Corporation; Chairman and President, The Hoglund Foundation
Gerald W. McElvy
Vice Chairman of the Board; retired President, ExxonMobil Foundation
Kevin Alexander
Trustee, Stanford & Joan Alexander Foundation
Bruce R. Bilger
Senior Advisor, Lazard Frer├Ęs & Co. LLC
Nelson Broms
Chairman, Nelson Broms Company LLC; former Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer, Equitable Life Holding Corporation
Michael Dee
Former Senior Advisor, Temasek Holdings; former Managing Director, Morgan Stanley
Edward P. Djerejian
Director, James A. Baker III Institute for Public Policy, Rice University
Charles W. Duncan Jr.
Chairman, Duncan Interests; former President, The Coca-Cola Company; former U.S. Secretary of Energy
Larry R. Faulkner, Ph.D.
President Emeritus, The University of Texas at Austin; former Chair, National Mathematics Advisory Panel
Jon H. Fleming
Chairman and CEO, Corinthian Data Diagnostics LLC; Chairman Emeritus, Texas Education Reform Foundation
Neal Lane, Ph.D.
Senior Fellow in Science and Technology Policy at the Baker Institute and Malcolm Gillis University Professor, Rice University; former Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy; former Assistant to the President for Science and Technology; former Director of the National Science Foundation
Ramona Pierson
Co-founder and CEO, Declara; Founder and former Chief Scientific Officer, SynapticMash
Thomas E. Torkelson
Founder and CEO, IDEA Public Schools
Virginia W. Simmons
Community Volunteer
Carolyn Sumners, Ed.D.
Director of Astronomy / Physical Sciences and Youth Programs, Houston Museum of Natural Science


Michael D. Burke
Founder and Chairman, San Antonio Clean Technology Forum
S. Malcolm Gillis, Ph.D.
University Professor of Economics and former President, Rice University
Dennis H. Goehring
Executive Director, Bryan Business Council
Phil Kutzko, Ph.D.
Professor and Collegiate Fellow, University of Iowa; Director, National Alliance for Doctoral Studies in the Mathematical Sciences
Donald R. McAdams, Ph.D.
President, Center for Reform of School Systems
Anne Charles Mendelsohn
Founding Director, Columbia University Distance Education Graduate Program
R. James Milgram, Ph.D.
Emeritus Professor, Department of Mathematics, Stanford University; member of the National Board for Education Sciences
Stephen A. Holditch, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Petroleum Engineering, Texas A&M University
Andrea Foggy-Paxton
Senior Director at the Broad Center for the Management of School Systems
Ken Grimes
Deputy Chief Investment Officer, Herndon Capital Management, LLC